Screen Shot 2018-11-15 at 4.43.58 PM.png

Jeffrey E.Lee

Ph.D, Associate Professor, Canada Research Chair in Structural Virology

Jeff completed his undergraduate studies at the University of British Columbia in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (1995-1999). He pursued his graduate studies with Dr. P. Lynne Howell at the University of Toronto/Hospital for Sick Children (1999-2005) and followed that up with a post-doctoral fellowship with Dr. Erica Ollmann Saphire at The Scripps Research Institute in La Jolla, CA (2005-2010). Jeff returned back to the University of Toronto to start his own lab in July 2010. His career has been highlighted with a number of fellowships and awards, such as a Canada Research Chair in Structural Virology, 2015 Merck Irving S Sigal Award (American Society of Microbiology), CIHR New Investigator Award, 2010 Spicer Young Investigator Award (Stanford University/Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource), 2009 NIH K99/R00 Pathway to Independence Award, 2006 Governor General’s Academic Gold Medal, and CIHR Postdoctoral and Doctoral Fellowships.


Karen Siu

Research Associates

Ph. D

Karen completed her BSc from Simon Fraser University (1999-2004) and obtained her PhD from the University of Toronto, Dept. of Biochemistry with Dr. P. Lynne Howell (2004-2010). She was the recipient of numerous national fellowships: CIHR Doctoral Scholarship, CIHR Postdoctoral Fellowship.


Patrick Yip


Patrick has over 20+ years of experience as a research technician. He manages the cell culture and protein expression facility in the lab.


Peter obtained a MSc (Biochemistry) from Concordia University (2008-2010) with Dr. Joanne Turnbull. He pursued his PhD in the lab of world-renown HIV/AIDS researcher Dr. Mark Wainberg at McGill University (2010-2015). He joined the Lee Lab in the summer of 2015 and is the recipient of the prestigious Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship (2016-2018).

Peter Quashie

Ph.D, Postdoctoral Fellow


Vitor obtained his BSc, MSc and PhD from the University of Sao Paulo in Biomolecular Physics in 2017. He also did an internship at Leiden University in single particle cryo-EM and a postdoctoral fellowship at Harvard Medical School in the Department of Neurobiology. He joined the Lee Lab in April 2018.

Vitor Serrão

Postdoctoral Fellow



Farshad completed his BSc (Hons) from the University of Toronto in the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology. He joined the Lee Lab as a PhD candidate in Jan 2012. Farshad holds the CIHR Doctoral Fellowship and has previously been awarded the CIHR CGS-M and Ontario Graduate Scholarships.

Farshad Azimi

Graduate Student


Wen completed his BSc (Hons) in Biochemistry at the University of Manitoba. He joined the Lee Lab in Sept 2016 and is co-supervised with Dr. Michael Ohh (LMP/Biochemistry UToronto).

Wenguang He

Graduate Student


Biochemistry (Hons) co-op student from UBC.

Elaina Corrado


Workstudy student

Cassie Zhang


Postdoctoral Fellows/Research Associate: George Bikopolous (staff at York University), Azmiri Sultana (SickKids)

Graduate Students: Halil Aydin, PhD (Postdoctoral Fellow at UCSF- Lab of Jonathan Weissman and Adam Frost), Matthew Taylor, MSc (Law at UToronto), Jonathan Cook, PhD (Medical Student at Queen's University)

Undergraduate Students: Rami Ajaj Nikki Cavandi, Sarah Cao (MD at WesternU), Briana Smrke (Ontario Government), Lewis Liu, Sofiya Lazarova (UBC graduate school), Kate Twohig (UBC MSc Public Health), Haroon Muhammed, Syed Hasan, Markus Korpella (UHelsinki), Amanda Kelsall (MD at UOttawa), Hazel Soto-Montoya (technician at UToronto), Brandon Ho (UToronto graduate school), Hanna Lem (technician at Stanford University), Dina Al-Khooly, David Dai (UToronto MSc Public Health), Alena Zelinka (UToronto graduate school), Klarizza Panaligan (Sanofi-Pasteur), Aynaz Khodayari, Annoj Thavalingam (UToronto graduate school), Minjie Mai, Vivian Zhou, Cody Cherepuschak, Helen Tran, Murtaza Khawaja, Chanhee Park, Ying Quan

Technician: Mehrnaz Amani (technician at SGC, UToronto)